For Over 18 Years

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Criminal Defense
  4.  » 
  5. DUI And Traffic Offenses
  6.  » Consequences Of A DUI Charge

Understand The Consequences Of A DUI Charge

Tennessee lawmakers have passed some of the strictest DUI laws in the country to encourage safe driving conditions. When you are out with friends, you may be tempted to grab just one more drink before you get behind the wheel. Learning about the consequences of a DUI charge should make you reconsider.

I am Vicki M. Carriker, criminal defense attorney. For over 18 years, I have represented Memphis drivers facing DUI charges. I understand that alcohol affects a person’s ability to make good decisions when that person is even slightly intoxicated. If you made a mistake that led to a DUI charge, I believe that your lapse in judgment should not create lasting hardship. I will fight to the best results possible for you given the circumstances of your case.

Tennessee Drivers Can Face These Penalties After Their DUI Conviction

Planning ahead before you find yourself in a tough situation can help you avoid these penalties:

  • Mandatory jail time: Even if you are a first-time offender, you will be sent to jail for a minimum of 48 hours. If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .20 or higher, you will be required to spend seven days in jail. This mandatory jail time lengthens with each subsequent DUI charge.
  • Required installation of breathalyzer machines: A judge can demand that DUI offenders pay for ignition interlock device (IID) to be installed on their vehicles. An IID will not allow a car to start if it detects alcohol on the driver’s breath.
  • Ordered loss of license: If you refuse a blood alcohol test, you can lose your license for a year. First-time offenders can have their licenses revoked for a year. These periods grow longer with each additional charge.

In addition to jail time, IID installation and revocation of license, violators are also responsible for paying fines and completing drug and alcohol programs. There are also harsh repercussions for underage drivers with a BAC of .02 and drivers convicted of felony DUI.

If you have been charged with a DUI, retain an experienced lawyer to avoid making another mistake that can affect your driving privileges and your finances.

Concerned About The Impact A Charge Can Have On Your Life? I Provide Straightforward Answers.

Reach my office online or over the phone at 901-881-8913. I offer free, no-pressure consultations.